About the National History Bee

The National History Bee is a buzzer-based history quiz competition for individual students throughout the USA. More information about the National History Bee, including participation in the 2020-2021 academic year, can be found at historybowl.com/events/history-bee/.

Visit Website
National History Bee

Schedule (pending)

All times listed are Eastern Standard Time

Results (pending)


Download the PDFs below for a complete set of the rules for the Varsity and Junior Varsity National History Bee.

Prelim Rules
Playoff Rules

Playoff Qualification

Students will play 6 preliminary matches. There will be up to 3 rounds of playoffs, depending on field size.

2020 Champions

Varsity Champion – Pedro Juan Orduz, Hunter College HS, New York, New York

JV Champion – Andrew Zeng, Hunter College HS, New York, New York

2019 Champions

  • Varsity: Hari Parameswaran, Beavercreek High School (Ohio)

  • Junior Varsity: Shiva Oswal, Team Pi-oneers (California)

More Results